3.5 Hour Driving / Walking Private Tallinn Tour “A Tale of Two Tallinn’s”
Our private Tallinn tour includes Medieval Town walking tour as well as highlights of more modern districts of Tallinn, Pirita and Kadriorg. The handsome city has a fascinating and turbulent history please click here to learn more.
00:00 — 00:15 Drive to Old Town
00:15 — 01:45 Tour in Old Town
01:45 — 02:00 Coffee break
02:00 — 03:30 Drive in City Center and Kadriorg-Pirita district ending at cruise port or if wished, in Old Town.
Children of 6 y.o and under are traveling for free. What is included: driving and guiding during 3, 5 hours, the cost of coffee break in Old Town
Description of Highlights
Tallinn Tour In Old Town
Houses of Parliament are situated in the old Teutonic Order Castle (Tompea Castle) fully reconstructed between 1767 and 1773 to meet the needs of Russian Provincial Government under Catherine II, but now is a permanent home of the Estonian Parliament
Tall Hermann Tower up on the Tompea Hill is a corner tower of the fortress, 45 meters high, visible from a great distance with Estonian blue, black and white national flag
Alexander Nevsky Cathedral — Russian Orthodox Church built 100 years ago by the order of Russian tsar Alexander III and sanctified in the name of Alexander Nevsky, Russian Prince who attacked the southeastern Estonia and Pskov in the early XIII century
Dome Church is architecturally modest but its significance to Estonian history is quite grand , It was first catholic church but later became Lutheran Cathedral, (as it remains to this day) .Beginning in the XVII century , the armorial epitaphs of Baltic German noble families were hung on the church walls to commemorate deceased nobles.
Viewing platform is usually the first place that tourists want to see when they visit Tallinn and one of the featured attractions on a private Tallinn tour. From there sweeping views of the town, its red titled roofs, its towers ,its walls and all of its charm open up.
Town Hall and Town Hall Square — The Gothic style Town Hall, charming in its simplicity, is the oldest one in all the Baltic countries. The square itself served as a medieval market and now is a modern meeting place
In City Center and Kadriorg-Pirita district (driving part of the tour)
Freedom Square — Modern gathering spot, has traditionally been a place of national symbolism and civic pride. The buildings around Freedom Square are hodgepodge of architectural styles
National Library is in its current location since 1993 when the new limestone library building was finished. The objective of National Library is to preserve and make publically available all the books, magazines and newspapers published in Estonian language. It is also serving as the parliamentary library.
Opera House — The Art Nouveau style theatre building designed by Finnish architects Armas Lindgren and Wivi Lönn was the largest building in the early 20th century Tallinn.. In 2013 the opera house will celebrate its centenary. They attend a concert of classical music, ballet , opera and drama performances.
KUMU Estonian Art Museum — Winning the title of “European Museum of the Year 2008”
Estonia’s largest art museum makes its home in enormous, cutting–edge facility built into a limestone cliff in Kadriorg and is a work of art on its own. It serves both as a centre for contemporary art and Estonia’s National Gallery.
Kadriorg Park & Palace — After Russian Tsar Peter the Great, conquered the Baltics in the early 1700, he established an estate and a public park. He named the area Ekaterienthal (Catherine’s valley, or Kadriorg in Estonian)-with baroque palace (now the home for the foreign art branch of the Estonian Art museum), ponds and fountains. In course of time Kadriorg developed into the upscale residential district with ornate wooden mansions.
Presidential Palace First Estonian president worked in Kadriorg palace but in 1938, presidential palace was opened next to it, just up the hill. The Presidential Palace’s style reminds the Kadriorg, The building serves as the President’s office and residence, by this reason it’s closed to visitors, but you can still wander into the parking area for a better view.
St Bridget’s Monastery Ruins — The Monastery was established in the early XVcentury. Only the ruins of this convent survive today (the time and the local farmers who used the site as a source of valuable construction materials, ruined the monastery at last) .However, the walls and western gable still stand, giving us a good idea of the magnificent building that once stood on this site. The romantic ruins are a beloved concert venue in the summertime
Song Festival Grounds — The Estonians have been called a singing nation because of the high quality and tremendous popularity of choir music. Song festival is a tradition began in 1869 in Tartu. You will see the current song stage which was completed in 1960; choirs come together from every part of Estonia with a total 15-20, 000 singers participating in a single Song Festival.
Olympic Village — When the Olympic Games were held in Moscow in 1980, the Olympic sailing competitions were held in Tallinn. To allow more spectators to observe the arrival of the Olympic flame and the ceremony that followed grandstands were erected as well as Olympic village for the sportsmen
Contact Us to Book one a Private Tallinn Tour